CITY OF COOS BAY CITY COUNCIL Agenda Staff Report

MEETING DATE	AGENDA ITEM NUMBER
December 16, 2014	

TO: Mayor Shoji and City Councilors

FROM: Jackie Mickelson, Executive Assistant Through: Rodger Craddock, City Manager

ISSUE Appointments to Budget Committee, Planning Commission, Parks Commission,

and Coos Bay/North Bend Water Board

BACKGROUND

Recently, the City advertised openings on the Budget Committee, Planning Commission, Parks Commission, and the Coos Bay/North Bend Water Board.

The Budget Committee consists seven members, and it currently has two opening. Members must be a resident of the City of Coos Bay and a registered voter. These openings are three year terms ending December 31, 2017. The City received applications from Roy Metzger and Donald Dille.

The Planning Commission was established by Ordinance No. 3. The Planning Commission consists of seven members that provides comprehensive planning services for the City Council. Applicant must be a resident of the City of Coos Bay for at least one year prior to appointment; one member may reside outside the city limits if the person owns property within the City. The Planning Commission has two openings which are four year terms ending December 31, 2018. The City received applications from John Peery, Katherine Flores, and Donald Dille.

The Parks Commission was established by Ordinance No. 56 to assist staff in preparation of parks plans, site, and building designs, development standards, and recreation services. The Commission consists of eight members appointed by the City Council, and they meet on a monthly basis. Applicants must be a resident of the City of Coos Bay. The Parks Commission is comprised of one Councilor, one Planning Commissioner, one representative of a service club, one representative of the landscape design profession or business, one representative of the design profession, and three citizen-at-large positions. The Parks Commission has three openings which are four year terms ending December 31, 2018. The current openings are for one citizen-at-large, one service organization, and one design professional. The City received applications from Ariann Lyons (design professional), Bill Otton (service organization), Ralph Mohr, Kristi Kelty, and Donald Dille.

The Coos Bay-North Bend Water Board was established by Ordinance No. 285 to keep the City of Coos Bay apprised of the operations of the Coos Bay-North Bend Water Board, and to ensure that a yearly report be made to the City showing the financial condition of the municipal waterworks along with a financial statement of the Coos Bay-North Bend Water Board's yearly operation. Nominations for appointments shall be made by the Mayor, and shall be subject to confirmation by the Coos Bay City Council. Such nominations shall be in writing, and submitted

City Council – December 16, 2014 Committee Appointments Page 2

for consideration by the Council at least two weeks prior to the scheduled date for confirmation. Confirmation may be made by written ballot, and shall require majority vote. Applicants must be a resident of the City of Coos Bay for a period of not less than one year prior to appointment. There is currently one opening, and the appointment is a four year term ending December 31, 2018.

ADVANTAGES

Citizens serving in volunteer capacities on the City's boards and commissions fulfill an important community need and provide a valuable resource for city government.

DISADVANTAGES

None

BUDGET IMPLICATIONS

None

RELATED TO CITY GOALS

This matter is directly related to the City's goal "to create a vibrant community for City citizens..."

ACTION REQUESTED

If it pleases the City Council, cast your ballot to consider:

- re-appointing Roy Metzger and/or appointing Donald Dille to the Budget Committee with a term ending December 31, 2017;
- re-appointing Ariann Lyons and Bill Otton and/or appointing Ralph Mohr, Kristi Kelty, and Donald Dille to the Parks Commission with a term ending December 31, 2018;
- appointing John Peery, Katherine Flores, and/or Donald Dille to the Planning Commission for a term ending December 31, 2018;
- re-appointing Charles Sharps or appointing John Peery or Donald Dille to the Coos Bay-North Bend Water Board for a term ending December 31, 2018